top of page
IMG_0806_edited.jpg

Jo Fowler

Born: 1971

Hobbies and Interests: I am a home bird, I love to spend my time at home with the dogs, reading and pottering when its raining, walking and gardening when its dry or progressing DIY projects for the house and gardens.   

Work History: Worked for TSB Bank for 10 years between 1987 and 1997; Worked for University of South Wales (formerly University of Glamorgan) for 20 years between 2002 and 2022 as a Psychology Lecturer and then as a Senior Manager.

Qualifications: BSc Psychology (Hons); PhD Psychology; Level 3 Ofqual regulated Professional Day Care and Boarding

My Story

I left school at 16 years old and got a job with TSB Bank but after 10 years in the bank I was ready for a new challenge. I did a few A' levels in night school and then left my job to enter higher education to study for a Batchelors degree in Psychology and then a PhD in Psychology. I started working for University of Glamorgan (which later changed its name to University of South Wales) in 2002 as a Researcher and Psychology Lecturer and I stayed their very happily for 20 years, moving into management and then senior management which kept things challenging and very rewarding. 

I got a couple of cats at 17 years old, as soon as I had my own place, but couldn't get any dogs until my circumstances allowed it.  I have always been dog obsessed but it wasn't until my career change in 1997 that I could escape from the 9-5 job and get a couple of dogs (my beautiful and clever border collies, Harry and George). Since then I have always had  both cats and dogs.  I met Neil at University in 1999 and our family grew in the years between 2006 and 2012 when we started volunteering with Four Paws Animal Rescue, we fostered dozens of stray and surrendered dogs, teaching them how to enjoy life again and learn about the comforts of home.  By the time we stopped fostering in 2012, owing to the new demands in my job, we had 4 dogs (Mikey - flat coat retriever, Bertie - springer spaniel, Basil - border collie and Noodle - lab cross) and 4 cats (Stumpy, Graham, Henry and Maisey), most of whom were fosters who we had decided to adopt owing to behavioural or health reasons. We moved to Maesydderwen together in 2012 and my parents built a bungalow in our grounds and moved up here in 2016.  It's been a happy arrangement with Dad helping out with the grounds, mum helping out with my dogs when work was busy and us supporting them with anything they need.

In 2022 I decided to take voluntary redundancy and set up a home boarding and day care business to combine my love of home and love of dogs to achieve a slower pace of life. We've been looking after our friends dogs for years (see testimonials) so it seemed a  natural transition. I am viewing this phase as semi retirement and love having more time to devote to my dogs, parents and husband.

bottom of page